Follow @rpmgo

Lewis Hamilton grabs pole at Malaysian GP

In the inaugural race of the F1 2012 season, Lewis Hamilton managed to obtain the first position for the Australian GP, while today in Sepang he did the same thing for tomorrow’s Malaysian GP. This is the first two in a row pole position for the driver since September 2009.

The former world champion managed to do his fastest lap during the Q3 in 1m 36.219s, ahead of his teammate Jenson Button that did his quickest lap in 1m 36.368s. This means that tomorrow we will be seeing a McLaren Mercedes first grid, just like we did last Sunday at Melbourne’s Albert Park.

On the third spot of the starting grid we will see the seven times world champion Michael Schumacher that managed to finish a lap in 1m 36.391s, ahead of Red Bull’s Mark Webber that had a lap time of 1m 36.461s. Fifth place was obtained by returning F1 driver Kimi Raikkonen but he will be relegated five positions due to the reason that he changed the gearbox on his Lotus Renault.

Here are the results of the 2012 Malaysian Grand Prix qualifying session:

1. Lewis Hamilton Britain McLaren-Mercedes 1m 36.219s
2. Jenson Button Britain McLaren-Mercedes 1m 36.368s
3. Michael Schumacher Germany Mercedes-Mercedes 1m 36.391s
4. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault 1m 36.461s
5. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Lotus-Renault 1m 36.461s
6. Sebastian Vettel Germany Red Bull-Renault 1m 36.634s
7. Romain Grosjean France Lotus-Renault 1m 36.658s
8. Nico Rosberg Germany Mercedes-Mercedes 1m 36.664s
9. Fernando Alonso Spain Ferrari-Ferrari 1m 37.566s
10. Sergio Perez Mexico Sauber-Ferrari 1m 37.698s

11. Pastor Maldonado Venezuela Williams-Renault 1m 37.589s
12. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari-Ferrari 1m 37.731s
13. Bruno Senna Brazil Williams-Renault 1m 37.841s
14. Paul di Resta Britain Force India-Mercedes 1m 37.877s
15. Daniel Ricciardo Australia Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m 37.883s
16. Nico Hulkenberg Germany Force India-Mercedes 1m 37.890s
17. Kamui Kobayashi Japan Sauber-Ferrari 1m 38.069s
18. Jean-Eric Vergne France Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m 39.077s
19. Heikki Kovalainen Finland Caterham-Renault 1m 39.306s
20. Vitaly Petrov Russia Caterham-Renault 1m 39.567s
21. Timo Glock Germany Marussia -Cosworth 1m 40.903s
22. Charles Pic France Marussia -Cosworth 1m 41.250s
23. Pedro de la Rosa Spain HRT-Cosworth 1m 42.914s
24. Narain Karthikeyan India HRT-Cosworth 1m 43.655s

Powered by Crowd Ignite