Seat wins everything in World Touring Car Championship |

Although this might annoy some of you petrol-heads which believe that gasoline is the only true fuel for a car, Seat has just won every award in the World Touring Car Championship, largely due to its Leon TDI model.

The carmaker is represented by Spanish Touring Car Company (Sociedad Espanola de Automoviles de Turismo) team, which has won the manufacturer’s title, inching ahead of arch rivals BMW and their 3 Series model as well as Chevrolet, with its Cruze-based car and Lada. The drivers’ title was earned by the team’s Gabriele Tarquini, which now holds the honor after his teammate, Yvan Muller, earned it last year. Also, the Spanish carmaker also helped private driver Tom Coronel earn his Independents Trophy, as the piloted a gasoline-powered Leon car.

Overall, this calls for champagne for the Spanish manufacturer, and what better way to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the TDI engine, which is ruling both the WTCC and the Le Mans competition through the Audi R10 TDI model.

Source: Autoblog